Thermal Carafe Coffee Brewer - 5 Cup

BV1500TS
Suggested Retail $139.99
BV1500TS

Engineered to similar brewing specifications as our popular 8-cup series brewers, the BV1500TS is the perfect coffee maker for individuals who prefer to brew their coffee in smaller 4-5 cup batches. 

  • One-touch brew operation with auto-off
  • Powerful and precise 1100-watt heater maintains optimal brewing temperature of 195°-205°F (91°-96°C)
  • Optional pre-infusion mode saturates freshly roasted ground coffee to allow degassing before brewing
  • Specially designed showerhead for ideal extraction in small batch sizes
  • Durable stainless steel lined thermal carafe
  • Brewer uses standard #4, cone-shaped filters
  • Carafe lid, filter basket, and showerhead are dishwasher safe and all plastic is BPA-free
  • Product Dimensions: Length: 12.30"  Width: 6.20"  Height: 10.60"
  • 2-year warranty

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can I purchase Bonavita Brewer in Switzerland? I love my Bonivita 8 cup Brewer, and have bought them as gifts for family. I have recently moved to Switzerland, and it is highly recommended not to use US appliances due to electrical current and voltage differences. Do you make an EU model, and are they sold at a retailer near Zurich?
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from perfect size so many great features: 5 cup (25 oz.) capacity makes 3 perfect MUGS - 2 for us immediately and one for a later morning cup that remains HOT. perfect every time. Easy cleanup. Doesn't hog too much counter space.
Date published: 2015-11-30
  • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_10
  • loc_en_US, sid_bv1500ts, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bonavita
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 32.8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Will the 5 cup machine be certified by the SCAA?

Asked by: djlovell
This coffee brewer was designed according to SCAA standards and is currently undergoing the SCAA certification process.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2017-01-27

Hi I'm planning on buying the 5-Cup Coffee Brewer from Amazon.  Is it safe to use in the Philippines where we have 220volt electrical sockets? Is it auto-volt? If not can I use a Transformer/Convertor or Adaptor? Thanks!

Asked by: idol782002
The coffee brewer sold in the US is 120V and would require a transformer of at least 1650W to use in the Philippines.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2016-05-04

i brew a full 5 (5oz) cups,  why does the first full cup taste rich and after that they taste much different. i swirl the pot before i pour so the coffee solution is well mixed before i pour. i use a city roast columbian supremo grade bean.

Asked by: acorn54
This is not an issue we've previously seen. This may be caused by the change in temperature between cups. To ensure the best taste, we recommend putting the lid on the carafe immediately after brewing and drinking within about an hour. For further assistance, please contact us at customersupport@bonavitaworld.com or call 855.664.1252.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2015-11-06

Do you have the instruction booklet available online?

Asked by: Mholden
The user guide for this brewer is available at the link below. http://bonavitaworld.com/sites/default/files/bv1500ts_manual_0914.pdf
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2017-02-20

I've noticed when I use to drink coffee from stainless still thermal's there was a metallic taste to it. Would I expect the same from this product?

Asked by: scott654
Most consumers will not notice a metallic taste while using this carafe.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2017-02-17

When will the bv1500 be available with the glass carafe? I would like to wait for this updated version. Does it matter that this smaller machine has less wattage than the 1900?

Asked by: ladyjane
We do not have a glass carafe version planned at this time. However, we will have a 5 cup glass carafe available within the next few months. This carafe will be sold separately from the 5 cup coffee brewer.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2016-11-01

Measurements Please

Asked by: karen
The 5-cup brewer (excluding the carafe and brew basket) measures approximately 10.50 inches tall, 10.75 inches long and 6.00 inches wide.
Answered by: Bonavita
Date published: 2015-11-19

Is the filter basket available to buy separately, and will it fit the older model?

Asked by: Coffee lover
The flat bottomed filter basket is designed for use with the BV1900TS and BV1900TD coffee brewers. Thank you.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2015-10-22

Is the carafe dishwasher safe? 

Asked by: Chey
No, this carafe should be hand washed. Thank you.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2015-12-07

Is it possible to get a gold or stainless filter instead of paper for the 5 Cup Model BV1500TS?

Asked by: Milo
We don't make a permanent filter, but any #4 filter should work well.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2016-07-06

On the BV1500TS carafe, I also note that not all liquid pours out. I believe the cause is a gap where the black plastic ring joins the carafe metal body. Liquid gets trapped here when the carafe is tilted. Will this design flaw be fixed?

Asked by: ChristianJ
The thermal carafe has a vacuum seal which creates a lip that may retain a small amount of water. We do not currently have plans to redesign this carafe. If we may be of further assistance, please email us at customer support@bonavitaworld.com.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2017-02-22

Does this unit have a timer for ready to drink coffee in the morning ??

Asked by: davie boys
This model does not have a timer. However, the BV1500TD is very similar and includes a timer feature.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2016-06-28

Is this coffee maker made in the USA?

Asked by: Jimmy
No, this coffee maker is made in China.
Answered by: Tura
Date published: 2016-06-05

Do you have one that can take 220 V , 50 Hz ? (Norwegian power setting)

Asked by: Kjetil
Yes, please email us at customersupport@bonavitaworld.com and we will put you in touch with a local retailer,
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2016-06-29

Has the issue regarding the thermal carafe been addressed for the current 1500TS model...the majority of the reviews I've read bring up the leaky carafe when pouring + inability to get all of the coffee out without spill. Thank you for your response.

Asked by: matchpoint49
The carafe is designed to pour only with the lid in place. The vacuum seal creates a lip that may retain a small amount of liquid in the carafe. We recommend using a towel to dry under the lip and soak up any remaining liquid.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2017-02-17

Can a gold tone filter be used?

Asked by: Bobcubsfan
Yes, any #4 filter basket should work well with this coffee brewer.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2015-11-30

Can I purchase an extra thermal carafe for the 5 cup model?

Asked by: lebar
Yes, carafes are available for purchase at the following link: https://www.espressosupply.com/catalog/bonavita-5-cup-thermal-carafe
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2016-03-23

Where is this product made?

Asked by: Dee122
Bonavita products are manufactured in China.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2015-11-09

Hi: Is the plastic in this machine BPA free? Thank you.

Asked by: BarbZ
Yes, all plastic used in Bonavita products is BPA free.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2016-11-13

The 5 cup uses a cone filter, while the 8 cup uses a basket and mentions it as a factor in delivering even saturation. Am I losing anything in terms of taste, increased acidity, etc. with a cone filter?

Asked by: Stukey
We've found that a cone shaped filter offers best extraction for smaller batches and a flat bottomed filter offers the best extraction when brewing 6+ cups.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2015-12-24

Once again .....Most coffee makers have a timers does yours ...yes or no  ...If yes I will buy it if no I won't. ...so what the answer  ???

Asked by: davie boys
No, this coffee maker does not have a timer.
Answered by: Tura
Date published: 2016-06-05

I have used my new coffee maker every day for the last 2 weeks and I noticed that the water drip holes do not drip evenly.  During the cycle of making 3 to 5 cups, only a few holes drip at any given moment, and the middle drips the most. 

Asked by: tina
https://fs18.formsite.com/bonavita/form5/index.htmlThank you for your email and purchase of a Bonavita coffee brewer. To ensure the showerhead is working as designed, please remove the tank lid (see video link below, but note this is using an 1800 series brewer, your showerhead may stay in the lid, if this happens pull straight up on the showerhead to remove from lid) and showerhead, then replace showerhead, ensuring that is pressed down as far as possible. Also, ensure the brewer is placed on a completely flat surface. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DGbvp-ky0lk The showerhead is designed to allow an even distribution of water. However, the brewer is not pressurized, so the amount of water coming out of each hole is not regulated. The middle holes usually distribute throughout the brew cycle and the outside holes alternate. The water will cover the entire filter basket and rise slightly above the grounds, allowing for an even extraction. Please let me know if I may be of further assistance.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2016-05-05

i just received this today and I am having a heck of a time putting the carafe lid back together. Is there an instruction video out there to show me how?

Asked by: linda joy
I apologize, but we don't currently have a video showing how to assemble the lid. Please try to align cap recesses with spout and carafe lid lever and press on to lid. Then, twist cap clockwise to lock in place. If this doesn't work, please contact us at customersupport@bonavitaworld.com. Thank you.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2016-01-04

Does this have a hot plate or does it brew into the thermal carafe and turn off.

Asked by: Betts
No, this does not have a heating plate. The thermal carafe is designed to keep coffee hot for about an hour. Thank you.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2015-11-20

Will you be offering a glass carafe instead of the steel? I would much prefer a glass version.

Asked by: warcow
We don't have a brewer with glass carafe planned at this time. However, we will have a 5-cup double walled glass carafe available within the next few months. This may be used with the brewer in place of the included thermal carafe. Thank you.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2015-12-01

does it have and automatic shut off

Asked by: Gary
Yes, this brewer shuts off automatically once the brew cycle is complete.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2016-04-04

Does the maker have a separate flat lid/top for the carafe? Only top shown in pic is the cone shaped holder for filter. Thanks. 

Asked by: James
Yes, there is a screw on lid included for the carafe. Thank you.
Answered by: Bonavita Customer Support
Date published: 2015-12-28

What are the dimensions of the BV1500TS? What is the maximum amount of coffee in oz that can be made in one cycle. 

Asked by: batty

Is the Stainless Steel 18/10. 10/8 or 18/0?   And where is product manufactured?  

Asked by: Martha

Do you have a 220v rated model for the Bonavita 5-Cup Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe?

Asked by: Richie
  • y_2017, m_3, d_24, h_22CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_bv1500ts, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bonavita
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 26.58ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT